Your Strongest Ally to Conquer Cancer

Phone: 505.842.8171

dotAfter Hours: 505.857.3877

dotPharmacy: 505.822.3911

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, CEO


Front Row
Ardis D. Hoven, MD (Immediate Past President), Steven J. Stack, MD (President-Elect), Robert M. Wah, MD (President), Barbara L. McAneny, MD (Chair), Andrew W. Gurman, MD (Speaker, House of Delegates), Susan R. Bailey, MD (Vice Speaker, House of Delegates)

Middle Row
Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, Maya A. Babu, MD, MBA, Gerald E. Harmon, MD, Stephen R. Permut, MD, JD (Chair-Elect), Mary Anne McCaffree, MD, Georgia A. Tuttle, MD, Julie K. Goonewardene, Patrice A. Harris, MD, MA (Secretary), Albert J. Osbahr, III, MD

Back Row
Carl A. Sirio, MD, Samuel J. Mackenzie, MS, David O. Barbe, MD, MHA (Immediate Past Chair), James L. Madara, MD (EVP/CEO), Jack Resneck, Jr., MD, William E. Kobler, MD

Not pictured:
Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH, who is serving in the military abroad.

About Barbara McAneny, MD, CEO
Dr. McAneny has lived in Albuquerque since 1980. After receiving her M.D. at the University of Iowa, she completed a residency in internal medicine at the University of Iowa, followed by a Fellowship in Hematology-Oncology at the University of New Mexico. Dr. McAneny is Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Hematology and Oncology. She was the 1989 President of the Greater Albuquerque Medical Association and was President of the New Mexico Medical Society in 2000. Dr. McAneny is active in the political arena both in and outside of medicine. She served a four-year term on the Practicing Physicians Advisory Council for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Currently, she serves on the AMA Council of Medical Service and the American Society of Clinical Oncologists (ASCO) Board of Directors and their Clinical Practice committee. She is now the Chair-Elect of the Board of Trustees of the American Medical Association. Dr. McAneny is CEO of New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants, LTD and the past President of the New Mexico Cancer Center Foundation.

In 2012, Dr. McAneny was awarded a $19.8 million Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (CMMI) grant to test how private oncology practices could provide better care for patients with cancer at a lower cost. To accomplish that, she created the company Innovative Oncology Business Solutions and serves as its Medical Director and CEO. The COME HOME project will replicate the care and cost-saving practices that were created at New Mexico Cancer Center at six other practices across the United States. You can read more about this grant in this September 2013 article.

Kansas City, Missouri

Undergraduate Education
Mathematics, Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa

BA, Mathematics (Magna Cum Laude), University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Medical Education
MD, University of Iowa College of Medicine, Iowa City, Iowa

Postdoctoral Education & Training
Residency in Internal Medicine, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa

Fellow, Hematology-Oncology, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico

University Physician/Instructor in Medicine, University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Medical Licensure
New Mexico License, 1980, Permanent

Certified, The American Board of Internal Medicine, 1980

Certified, Subspecialty of Oncology, American Board of Internal Medicine, 1983

Certified, Subspecialty of Hematology, American Board of Internal Medicine, 1984

Fellow, American College of Physicians, 1994

Fellow, American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2012

Medical Director and CEO, Innovative Oncology Business Solutions

Managing Partner and CEO, New Mexico Cancer Center, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Investigator, Response Oncology Research Network, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Sub-Investigator, New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants, Ltd., Research Department, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Private practice, New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants, Ltd., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Private practice, Hematology Oncology Associates, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Chair-Elect, Board of Trustees, American Medical Association, 2013-2014

Board of Trustees, American Medical Association, 2010-2014

Board Member, Council for Affordable Quality Healthcare/Committee on Operating Rules for Information Exchange, 2013

Advisory Board Member, RainTree Oncology Services, 2011-Present

Board of Directors, Community Oncology Alliance, 2009-Present

Steering Committee Member, Cancer Center Business Summit, 2007-Present

American Society of Clinical Oncology, Delegate to the American Medical Association, 2002-Present

American Society of Clinical Oncology, Clinical Practice Committee, 1999-Present

President, New Mexico Medical Society, 2000-2001

President, New Mexico Medical Foundation, 2001-2007

Member, Chronic Disease Prevention Council, 1997-Present

Chair, Chronic Disease Prevention Council, 2001

Chair, Albuquerque Emergency Medical Services Authority, 1998-Present

Member, Council on Medical Service for the American Medical Association, 2003-2007, 2007-2011

Board of Directors, American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2005-2008

President, Independent Doctors of New Mexico, 2005-Present

BizTECH Award, Albuquerque Business First, April 2013 (Collaboration on an Online System that extracts data from electronic Medical records and health care claims to make patient data more accessible to doctors.)

CMMI Grant recipient, The U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), July 2012

ASCO Statesman Award, 2010

New Mexico Business Weekly Publication, Women of Influence Awards Recipient, 2010

Local Legends of Medicine, Celebrating America’s Local Women Physicians, Nominated by Representative Tom Udall, 2007

Top Doctor Award, Albuquerque Magazine; 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

Women on the Move Award from the YWCA, 2003

Governor’s Award for Outstanding Women in New Mexico,1996

Ayerst-Wyeth Award for Medicine, 1992

American Medical Women’s Association Award for Scholastic Achievement, 1977

Ciba Award for the most community-minded medical student

Fellow of the American College of Physicians, 1974

Magna Cum Laude Bachelor’s Degree in Mathematics, 1973

American Medical Women’s Association, Honorary Member

Alpha Omega Alpha, 1977